NVRC Northern Virginia Regional Commission
RSS Feeds Icon
Go To Search
Northern Virginia Waste Management Board
The Northern Virginia Waste Management Board, composed of solid waste managers and public works directors from each of NVRC's member jurisdictions, was created in 1989 to promote regional approaches and solutions to recycling and waste management issues in Northern Virginia.

Special projects of the Board include the Solid Waste Report and the Know Toxics Campaign.

Waste Board Members and Alternates
City of Alexandria
  • Alton Weaver, Solid Waste Division Chief, T&ES

Arlington County
  • Erik Grabowsky,Chief, Solid Waste Bureau
  • Vacant,  Manager, Recycling and Waste Reduction Programs

Town of Dumfries

  • Richard Paul West, Director, Public Works

City of Fairfax
  • Dave Summers, Director, Public Works
  • David Ray, Refuse & Recycling Supervisor

Fairfax County
  • Pamela Gratton, Director of Waste Collection and Recycling
  • John Kellas, Director, Operations Solid Waste Management Program 

City of Falls Church

  • Michael Collins, Director of Public Works 
  • Chris McGough, Solid Waste & Environmental Programs Coordinator

Town of Herndon
  • Robert B. Boxer, Director, Public Works
  • Mike Doi, Deputy Director, Public Works

Town of Leesburg
  • Thomas Mason, NVWMB Chair, Director, Engineering & Public Works
  • Renee LaFollette, Director of Public Works

Loudoun County

  • Richard Pezzulo, Director of Department of Environmental Services
  • Mike Fairbanks, NVWMB Chair, Landfill Operations Manager

City of Manassas
  • Monica Boehringer, Director Refuse and Recycling Coordinator 
  • Patrick Moore, Assistant Director, Public Works 

City of Manassas Park
  • Jay Johnson, Director of Public Works 
  • Laura Coughanour, Department of Public Works

Prince William County
  • Tom Bruun, Director, Public Works
  • Tom Smith, Director, Chief, Division of Solid Waste

Town of Vienna
  • Dennis Johnson, P.E., Director, Public Works Department
  • Michael J. Gallagher, P.E., Deputy Director of Public Works

  • John Snarr, Principle Environmental Planner, Department of Environmental Programs

NVRC Staff


The next meeting will be held on Friday, June 3, 2016, at 9:30 am at NVRC

The Board meets quarterly, usually on the first Fridays of March, June, September, and December.

For more information, contact Debbie Spiliotopoulos, NVRC Senior Environmental Planner at 703-642-4631.

Current Waste Management Board members.

Waste Board Staff

Northern Virginia Regional Commission  3040 Williams Drive, Suite 200  Fairfax, VA 22031  703-642-0700 (Voice)  703-642-5077 (FAX)  Email Us